Series: Hyperion Cantos by Dan Simmons

Hyperion fan art

What starts out as a grouping of short stories in the first book evolves into one of the greatest space operas of contemporary Sci-Fi. Books two and three are the strongest, and book one is probably the weakest. Even having said that, the entire series is amazing, mind-bending, and essential for Sci-Fi fans.

Series Reviews

  1. Hyperion
  2. The Fall of Hyperion
  3. Endymion
  4. The Rise of Endymion

Publisher’s Summary

On the world called Hyperion, beyond the law of the Hegemony of Man, there waits the creature called the Shrike. There are those who worship it. There are those who fear it. And there are those who have vowed to destroy it.

In the Valley of the Time Tombs, where huge, brooding structures move backward through time, the Shrike waits for them all. On the eve of Armageddon, with the entire galaxy at war, seven pilgrims set forth on a final voyage to Hyperion seeking the answers to the unsolved riddles of their lives. Each carries a desperate hope – and a terrible secret. And one may hold the fate of humanity in his hands.

Genre: Sci-Fi, Space Opera
Series: Hyperion Cantos | Subjects: Rich's Reco's, Series Review